(St. Augustine, Fla.) – The St. Augustine Music Festival (SAMF) returns for its 13th summer season of free classical music concerts in the historic Cathedral Basilica of St.
Augustine. Six performances are staged over two weekends, (Thursday, Friday, and Saturday), June 20-22 and June 27-29, with all concerts starting at 7:30 pm.

Founded in 2007 by Jacksonville musicians Jorge A. Peña and Jin Kim-Peña, the festival welcomes audiences as varied as its concert programs. Classical music “newbies” mingle with seasoned aficionados, true to the festival’s mission to educate, elevate, and entertain all through great music, regardless of ability to pay for a ticket. Individual and corporate donors support the festival financially to keep the concerts free to the public.

SAMF creates world-class concerts with professional musicians of the highest caliber. Many of the musicians are members of the Jacksonville Symphony Orchestra. SAMF, the largest, free festival of its kind in the United States, has become a beloved summer “must-do” in Northeast Florida’s cultural life. Its concerts have been featured on National Public Radio’s “Performance Today.”

This year’s event will feature Mozart’s Violin Concerto No. 5 with St. Augustine favorite Nigel Armstrong, the beautiful Adagio for Strings by Samuel Barber, Dmitri Shostakovich’s powerfulChamber Symphony for Strings in C Minor, and Arnold Schoenberg’s Transfigured Night.

For more information, visit StAugustineMusicFestival.org. Cathedral Basilica of St. Augustine is located at 38 Cathedral Place in downtown St. Augustine, FL. Follow on social media: Instagram@staugmusicfest and Facebook @staugmusicfest If you are interested in becoming a sponsor or donating to the 2019 season of the St. Augustine
Music Festival, please visit StAugustineMusicFestival.org or contact us at SAMFnews4u@gmail.com.

Thursday, June 20 ~ SIMPLE BEAUTY
Nigel Armstrong, Violin
Wolfgang A. Mozart (1756-1791)
Violin Concerto No. 5 in A major K. 219
Roxanna Panufnik (B. 1968)
Tibetan Winter
Franz Schubert (1797-1828)
Symphony No. 5

Friday, June 21 ~ PERCUSSION FEST
Joseph Becker, Kevin Ritenauer (Percussionists)

John Cage (1912-1992)
Steve Reich (B. 1936)
Clapping Music
J. S. Bach (1685-1750)
Inventions No. 3, 4 and 1
Daniel Levitan (B. 1957)
Inventions No. 6, 2 and 1
Tōru Takemitsu (1930-1996)
Cross Hatch
Anders Koppel (B. 1947)
Andy Akiho (B. 1979)
Gene Koshinski (B. 1980)
Dance of the Drums, movement 2

Saturday, June 22 ~ HOPE, JOY, AND LOVE
Wolfgang A. Mozart (1756-1791)
Viola Quintet in C major No. 3 K. 515
Nigel Armstrong, Gabriela Peña-Kim; violin; Jorge Peña, DJ Cheek; viola; Jin Kim; cello
Arnold Schoenberg (1874-1951)
Verklärte Nacht (Transfigured Night) Op. 4
Nigel Armstrong, Gabriela Peña-Kim; violin; Jorge Peña, DJ Cheek; viola; Betsy Federman, Jin Kim; cello

Wolfgang A. Mozart (1756-1791)
Piano Quintet in E-flat major K. 452
Scott Watkins; piano, Xiaodi Liu; oboe; Patrick Graham; clarinet; Stephanie Magnus; bassoon, Debra Sherrill; horn
Gustav Mahler (1860-1911)
Piano Quartet in A minor
Scott Watkins; piano, Alan Snow; violin; Jorge Peña; viola, Brian Magnus; cello
Ludwig Van Beethoven (1770-1827)
Septet in E-flat major Op. 20
Gabriela Peña-Kim; violin, Jorge Peña; viola, Jin Kim; cello; Sam Casseday; bass, Patrick Graham; clarinet; Stephanie Magnus; bassoon, Debra Sherrill; horn

Scott Watkins, Piano
Franz Schubert (1797-1828)
Four Impromptus Op. 90
Howard Hanson (1896-1981)
Symphonic Rhapsody Op. 14
Franz Liszt (1811-1886)
St. Francis of Paola Walking on the Waves
Transcendental Étude No. 9
Hungarian Rhapsody No. 12

Saturday, June 29 ~ AROUND THE WORLD
Sir Charles Hubert Parry (1848-1918)
An English Suite

Samuel Barber (1910-1981)
Adagio for Strings
“In memory of SAMF violist Colin Kiely”
Dmitri Shostakovich (1906-1975)
Chamber Symphony for Strings in C minor
Carl Nielsen (1865-1931)
Suite for Strings

*SAMF Chamber Orchestra:
Violin: Nigel Armstrong, Gabriela Peña-Kim, Katherine Baloff, Piotr Szewczyk, Katrina Rozmus, Alan Snow, Scott Jackson, Annie Hertler, and Yordan Tenev
Viola: Jorge Peña, DJ Cheek, and Daniel Urbanowicz
Cello: Jin Kim, Betsy Federman, Brian Magnus
Bass: Sam Casseday
Flute: Sarah Jane Young
Oboe: Daniel Rios and Claudia Minch
Bassoon: Anthony Anurca and Stephanie Magnus
Horn: Katharine Caliendo and Debra Sherrill